Seniors Honored on Awards Day

Seniors Honored on Awards Day

Dayton Christian School recognized the achievements of the 86 members of the class of 2017 during Friday’s Senior Awards Ceremony. Each student was recognized and their future college plans were announced. In addition, students were honored with special awards for fine arts, athletics, and academics. Here are some of the highlights:

Natalie Carter, a National Merit Finalist, also received the Honda-Ohio State University Math Medal, the Dayton LaSertoma Youth Service Award, and the Congressional Award Gold Medal.
Clara Brown was awarded the Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award.
Colin Hurst was an American Legion Americanism and Government Test Winner for the Third District.
Jenna Norvell and Mark Cox received the You Can Count on Me Scholarship.
The Dayton-Montgomery County Scholarship Program awarded scholarships to Mark Cox, Cole Fleetwood, Spencer Gaffney, Ashlynn McMillan, Madelyn Rohrer, Lexie Sauer, Grace Watkins, and Solomon West.
The valedictorians for the class of 2017 include Natalie Carter, Kwangeon Kim, and Sophie Reynolds.
The Salutatorians are Paul Hodge, Colin Hurst, Bethany Owoeye, and Grace Watkins.

Twenty-seven students received the Four Year Varsity Athlete Award – that means over 30% of our graduates played at least one sport at a varsity level each year of their high school career.
Twelve athletes will be moving on to play their sport at the collegiate level.
Solomon West and Julia Schindler received the Kingdom Community Foundation Scholarship.
Deborah Grove, Alyssa Colon. Alex Reid, and Ricarie Howard received the DCS Athletic Booster Scholarship.
Morgan Orme received the Rebecca Winslow Scholarship Award.
The Iron Warrior Award, a recognition of students who maintain a 4.0 while playing three seasons of sports, was given to Chloe Bell, Rebecca Brown, Casey Darkow, Abby Erisman, Joshua Raisch, and Maggie Zepernick.
The Shield Award goes to a male and female athlete who exhibit total release in performance, spiritual leadership, academic effort, attitude and athletic ability. This year’s recipients were Brantley Mills and Taylor Marshall.

Fine Arts
Twenty-five students received a Four-Year Art Award for being involved in an area of the fine arts all four years of their high school career, which is nearly 30% of the graduating class.
Kwangeon Kim earned the national John Phillip Sousa Award.
Vanessa Gray, Alexis VanFleet, and Morgan Orme received Fine Arts Scholarship Awards.
Grace Watkins was awarded the National School Choral Award.
Jenna Norvell earned the Bezalel Award for achievement in the fine arts and Colin Hurst received the Ezekial Award for outstanding achievement in drama.
The following students earned awards for outstanding achievement in fine arts:
Outstanding Achievement in Art 4 – Alexis VanFleet
Outstanding Dramatic Performance – Vanessa Gray and Grace Watkins
Outstanding Senior Vocalist – Colin Hurst
Oustanding Senior Instrumentalist – Natalie Carter

Instilling ... Inspiring ... Equipping
Schedule A Tour of DC Schedule A Tour of DC